New Year’s Resolutions for New York Actors

20130107-174932.jpg

Happy 2013! I hope that this year brings much success and happiness to you and yours. My friends will tell you that I don’t set new year’s resolutions. Instead, I try to set goals for the entire year. The reason is this: with a resolution, you’re screwed if you mess up three weeks into the new year. You throw up your hands in defeat if you aren’t perfect at exercising, eating healthy, saving money, being nicer or whatever it is you’re trying to do. Resolutions are about perfection. Goals are about trial and error and most of all hard work.

For example, I set a goal last year of reading 52 books during the year. That’s one book a week, and I started out great, but soon I got behind and it was clear that I would never get to 52 before December 31st. If I had made a resolution to read one book a week, I would have failed, but I set a goal to read 52 and I read 36 so that’s not half bad.

I bring this up because I think sometimes actors throw up their hands in defeat too quickly. With a new year’s resolution, you are more likely to quit in January, February, or March if you haven’t achieved what you want as quickly as you’d hope. At least that’s what the articles online say. However, if your goal is to book 2 commercials and 3 films and you book 1 commercial and 1 film, have you really failed? I don’t think so, but sometimes it takes until November or December to book that big project, so don’t give up too soon! Resolve to set some goals,and if you’re too lazy to set your own goals (a bad sign for an actor) here are some sample goals to get you inspired!

In 2013, I will learn to enjoy auditioning

In 2013, I will keep my headshot, resumé, reel, and website up-to-date.

In 2013, I will book 3 commercials

In 2013, I will take 2 classes to hone my craft.

In 2013, I will find positive ways to relax and relieve stress.

So what are your goals for 2013? Share and let me know if you need some inspiration, I am happy to help.

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions for New York Actors

  1. Katrina Hayes says:

    Hey there Destiny! Thanks for the tips. My goals for 2013 are to book a commercial, attend one networking event per week and take three classes to hone my craft. Also request to meet Destiny Lilly to pick her brain. 🙂
    Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

