Fall TV Preview

I’m a TV junkie. I love a really engaging drama, an off beat comedy, or a taut crime thriller. With the expansion of cable television and the accessibility of programming on the internet, there are new shows premiering year-round, but there is still something exciting about the fall premieres. My favorite shows of recent years (Lost, Nurse Jackie, Law & Order, True Blood) are either gone for good or gone for now, so I’m turning my attention toward the new network shows. Here’s what I’m looking forward to:

The Event

On NBC at 9pm on Monday nights, The Event looks to have a little bit of everything. A strong cast of talented, experienced, and versatile actors anchors this show. Seasoned veterans like Blair Underwood, Laura Innes, Zjelko Ivanek, and Lisa Vidal have been coupled with Jason Ritter, Taylor Cole, Sarah Roemer, and a host of others (including the amazingly talented Clifton Collins, jr.) I’m a big fan of political intrigue and a good twisty thriller, so I’ll be tuning in on Mondays.

Undercovers

Also on NBC, this is the new spy thriller from J.J. Abrams, the creator of Alias (liked it), Fringe (love it), and Lost (I still haven’t come to terms with the fact that it’s over, goodbye my love!). The beautiful Boris Kodjoe and the lovely Gugu Mbatha Raw, play husband and wife spies, and Undercovers looks fun, sexy, and full of intrigue. It starts Wednesday 9/22 at 8pm.

Blue Bloods

I’ve got to give it up for a New York cop show, especially one with a stellar cast. Tom Selleck plays the patriarch of a cop family that includes Donnie Wahlberg, Bridget Moynihan, and Will Estes. With Law & Order gone, it’s good to see another drama filmed in New York City. Blue Bloods is on CBS starting Friday 9/24 at 10pm.

My Generation

ABC gives us a documentary-style drama that follows a group of high school students from the class of 2000 and chronicles their lives 10 years later. This show features a diverse cast of experienced young actors ( Michael Stahl David, Mehcad Brooks, Jamie King, Kelli Garner, Daniella Alonso, Anne Son, Keir O’Donnell, Sebastian Sozzi, and Julian Morris). I’m interested to see how the documentary style works for this hour long drama. You can watch My Generation on ABC on Thursdays at 8pm.

So that’s what I want to see this Fall. I’m also looking forward to HBO’s Boardwalk Empire and Detroit 187 on ABC. What fall shows are you looking forward to seeing?

Leave a Reply

